top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Guidance for Parents

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the time in your child’s life between birth and 5 years, as described by the Government and Early Years Professionals.


This is a very important stage in your child's development, which is designed to prepare your child for future learning and ensure they are ready for school. From a child being born, until they reach 5 their life should be full of new experiences and learning, which the early years foundation stage promotes. At Little Acorns we have embedded the seven stages throughout our weekly planner, ensuring your child's early years are full of fun, exploration and learning within a happy and secure environment. EYFS also promotes that all children are individual, and again , this takes priority at Little Acorns, so we cater for all children, of all stages and abilities.


Children in the EYFS learn by exploring the the world around them, playing and engaging in a range of activities, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.



Childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, which we follow at Little Acorns. The framework was developed with a number of early years experts and parents, and exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child.


It sets out:


The legal welfare requirements that Little Acorns must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.


The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge. At Little Acorns we will monitor your child's progress and report this back to the parent on a regular basis, through verbal communication and written reports.


The EYFS sets out that children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

Communication and language
Physical development
Personal, social and emotional development


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

Understanding the world
Expressive arts and design


We use these 7 areas to plan your child’s learning and activities during their time at Little Acorns. We make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.


For further reading on EYFS, this guide for parents is extremely useful. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to ask.

bottom of page